Afcon 2021: Senegal top Group B despite Malawi draw

1 year ago 66
Senegal's defender Saliou Ciss (left) vies with Malawi forward Khuda MuyabaSenegal, Nations Cup runners-up in 2019, only scored one goal in three Group B matches

Senegal finished top of Group B at the Africa Cup of Nations despite being held to a 0-0 draw by Malawi.

Habib Diallo and Sadio Mane went close for Senegal, while Malawi had the award of a penalty overturned following a video assistant referee review.

The Flames thought they had a spot-kick in the 74th minute when left-back Gomezgani Chirwa went down under the challenge of Bouna Sarr.

But referee Blaise Yuven Ngwa reversed his decision after studying replays.

Malawi finish third in the table on four points and could yet qualify for the last 16 in Cameroon as one of four best-ranked third-placed sides.

Senegal, Nations Cup runners-up in 2019, only scored one goal in their three group matches - Mane's 97th-minute winner against Zimbabwe in their opener.

The Teranga Lions will face a third-placed side from Group A, C or D in the last 16 on Tuesday, 25 January.

Africa Cup of Nations fixturesAfrica Cup of Nations group tables

Senegal yet to click in Cameroon

Senegal were back to full strength for the first time, with goalkeeper Edouard Mendy and captain Kalidou Koulibaly making their first appearances following bouts of Covid-19 and midfielder Idrissa Gana Gueye also returning after a positive test.

Yet Aliou Cisse's side - among the pre-tournament favourites - were still lacking fluency and end product, and Malawi were the more threatening side in the first half after Mane lifted an early chance over the bar.

Koulibaly had to be alert to shut down Gabadinho Mhango twice, while the Flames forward had a free-kick deflected wide and Mendy had to help a Chirwa cross behind.

Senegal improved after the break, as Diallo's header and Mane's curling free-kick from wide on the left were pushed over the bar by Malawi goalkeeper Charles Thomu.

Sarr put a diving header wide and, after Malawi's penalty award was overturned, Senegal substitute Famara Diedhiou almost netted a sensational first-time volley having chested down a long ball.

Malawi tired as the game wore on but could yet find themselves in the knock-out stages for the first time in their history, having reached the Nations Cup for the third time.



Formation 4-4-2

1ThomuBooked at 83mins2Sanudi15ChaziyaBooked at 58mins5Chembezi21Chirwa7MhoneSubstituted forChesterat 67'minutes8IdanaSubstituted forNgalandeat 79'minutes17Banda10MadingaSubstituted forPhiriat 79'minutes22MuyabaSubstituted forMbuluat 67'minutes11Mhango




Formation 4-3-3

16Mendy20Sarr3Koulibaly22Diallo2CissSubstituted forBallo-Touréat 86'minutes8KouyatéBooked at 20mins6MendySubstituted forGueyeat 72'minutes5Gueye9DiaSubstituted forDiédhiouat 72'minutes11DialloSubstituted forDiengat 60'minutes10Mané



Referee:Blaise Yuven Ngwa

Live Text

Match ends, Malawi 0, Senegal 0.

Second Half ends, Malawi 0, Senegal 0.

Offside, Malawi. Richard Mbulu tries a through ball, but Gabadinho Mhango is caught offside.

Abdou Diallo (Senegal) wins a free kick in the defensive half.

Foul by Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi).

Attempt missed. Bamba Dieng (Senegal) right footed shot from the right side of the six yard box is too high. Assisted by Fodé Ballo-Touré with a cross.

Foul by Pape Gueye (Senegal).

Richard Mbulu (Malawi) wins a free kick in the defensive half.

Attempt saved. Famara Diédhiou (Senegal) right footed shot from the centre of the box is saved in the bottom left corner. Assisted by Kalidou Koulibaly with a through ball.

Attempt missed. Gerald Phiri (Malawi) left footed shot from more than 40 yards on the left wing misses to the left. Assisted by John Banda.

Substitution, Senegal. Fodé Ballo-Touré replaces Saliou Ciss.

Cheikhou Kouyaté (Senegal) wins a free kick in the defensive half.

Foul by Yamikani Chester (Malawi).

Charles Thomu (Malawi) is shown the yellow card.

Corner, Senegal. Conceded by Gerald Phiri.

Bamba Dieng (Senegal) wins a free kick in the defensive half.

Foul by Gomezgani Chirwa (Malawi).

Substitution, Malawi. Robin Ngalande replaces Chimwemwe Idana.

Substitution, Malawi. Gerald Phiri replaces Francisco Madinga.

VAR Decision: No Penalty Malawi.

Read Entire Article